For so long I have been one of those that never held back in expressing how I felt about the current situation and how lousy my life has turned out to be because of it. I’ve been blaming the African poverty situation and anything associated with it. I have always felt robbed of my youth, I would have been far in life if everyone else had been more responsible, including those that lived before me, if they had stopped being self-centered and thought about the next person! I’m fast approaching 40, I am a mother of 2 still living at home without a job. I’ve ventured the entrepreneurial route but in this suppressive and corrupt economy you can only go so far. Without solid connections or willingness to part with an “under the table gratuity or favours – in whatever shape of form”, coupled with the frail economic conditions, there are just not enough opportunities to go around, sustain or grow a business especially a start-up. Oh! where are my manners? Of-course I admit that my “seemingly failures” can also be attributed to some of the bad decisions I made and messed up or opportunities missed. …. But I will come back to that someday, right now I have a tone of other things to blame.

Yeah don’t judge I am just being honest! download

I have no choice but to open up to a possibility of a brighter future, sometimes the thought is exhausting because it seems to far. Today, as usual I visited my blame closet only to find it chained up and locked, I was like what the heck? I need that now, I need my blame closet… who’s shut it and why? Standing in front of that locked door whilst trying all sorts of tricks to pick or break the lock, I had a flash back…. Yes, a flush back in a flashback… it happens, s’true! Watch Nigerian movies. In this flashback I had a conversation with the Holy Spirit (I’m convinced it is, only He can be that smart!), He said, Hazel do you know that every generation has to leave an inheritance for the next, but every generation has it own battles to fight and they fight them for the next generation not for themselves. Some generations have had to go to war for your liberation, some have had to work hard and save for the next generation, some have to deal it with diseases so that a cure can be found for you, some poverty so that you can have wealth. The list goes on.

To illustrate my point, think about a farm or vineyard, every generation has its own role to play, but that role is not to benefit you, it is so that the next phase of farming can take place. In your case, your generation has to had to go without certain privileges so that your next generation can have them. They will also have to their own challenges but the laborious times are ultimately supposed to teach you that we are not here for our own gain. You are the simply here to plough or weed, or water or prune, or fumigate the vineyard. All these activities build up to just one purpose, and that is the great harvest.  Whichever way you look at it, nothing in this world is ever yours. This is why when you die you leave everything behind. I am not here to discourage you from living life, even in farming, labours do get time off to rest and enjoy other pleasures, but don’t be fixated on that or lunch benefits, you are here to work, seasons come and seasons go, they never last long, the dawn of a new season always ushers in a new dispensation a new phase and a new task for the next generation to take over. So do what you are here to do!

Hazel Namponya

Blog: WordPress-What is the truth?

Leave a comment